In a split second …

So this little piece is about 18 months old, in fact I just found it while scrolling through my notes section. It spoke to me- so I thought it might you too. Enjoy 😊

This week while driving down the freeway on the way to a hospital appointment the car I was driving was hit by a stray car tyre. It was kinda weird, as I braced myself in the car waiting for it to hit, hoping it wouldn’t but sure enough it inevitably had to hit me as it rolled closer and closer.

It was all in slow motion. It came into my line of site as it bounced off the truck in front of me to my left, across to the guard wire and then back towards me, rolling along the ground. All the traffic slowed but there was nowhere to go, except forward into its path. Ahhhhh 😬🙄😕

Sure enough eventually a loud ‘thud’ occurred, the car jolted and then in the rear vision mirror I watched as the tyre again hit the guard wire before spinning back into the traffic. It was spinning on the spot and finally dropping to the ground.

Fortunately, for me it didn’t hit me mid- air but on a slow roll, but it still made a massive dint to my sisters car which I was driving at the time.😞

It all happened in seconds and it’s taken about thousand times longer to type the event, than it did to occur. And that I guess is what I wanted to talk about. What do we do when life changes in a split second?

Things change. Sometimes for the better. Other times for the worse. But time does not stand still, which makes how we handle life some much more important. So, no matter what you week involves- the who’s, the when’s, the whys and the how’s let me encourage you to do it intentionally. Be in the moment more of the time than you are normally. And internationally invite God into each and every conversation, moment, job, task and event. Know that in each and every one of those split seconds which each day encompasses He loves you and wants to be there with you all through it all.

Until next time

Happy Pondering xx


Leave a comment